Titles are pointless unless they’re amazing

This is PART 1 in a 2 PART (or maybe 3 – depends how much I want to rant) on Books – vs –  Kindle.  I’m going to start with saying why I love books and then slowly (a day in your world) head into why I don’t like Kindle or ebooks in general.  You’ll probably realise it before the end of this part but play along 😉

So .. this new found fad that’s sweeping the world (minus 3rd world) and gripping people with a new joy of sophistication is annoying me.  I’m highly addicted and dedicated to books, as in paper; cardboard; glue and paint.  And seeing everyone with one of these electronic devices is irritating. (Oh how I sound old)

I like the action of turning pages with my hand, putting in a bookmark of whatever item I desire – a traditional cardboard rectangle; a sticker, a bit of fabric or if you’re feeling posh a £10 note (depending on wealth) – I have (should I admit this) used a £5 note before but I was out and it was a new book.  I even – although it annoys me at the time – love/like the action of losing the page because the bookmark decided to do a runner!

When I want a new book, I get to go the nearest book shop and stand around, sifting through all the books on the shelf (legally.. seriously no-one stops me), choosing a couple and taking them to the indoor coffee hut and settling down. Granted the downside to this is you might need to talk to someone when actually purchasing the book, but hang strong.  Alternatively you could go online and buy one (most of the time ‘look inside’ the book beore you buy) – the downside to this is you may have to wait (depending on delivery times) for 2- 8 days for the book to come to your house from the magic red vans!

Books are also a fantastic way to travel back in time and live in someone else’s life and I don’t mean through the plot lines and characters.  I mean going to a second hand book shop (yes they do still exist) and looking for hidden messages by previous owners:

Image

And also highlighted or underlined words which I love to guess why they chose them, like: ‘With open ears, and with unfolded arms’. Apart from just liking the words, what do they mean to the previous owner?

I’m sure that I don’t need to point out that only with an actual book, physical handheld object, can you get to do such things.  The above is a brief (I’ve tried) explanation of why books are better, next post on Thursday (weather permitting) will be on why Kindle annoys me.. but there will also be pros to them in that ramble too (promise). 

One thought on “Titles are pointless unless they’re amazing

  1. Pingback: Are E-books the way forward? | nixcean

Leave a comment